SENSE OF PLACE : BERLIN

Hello!

Last month I had the most amazing experience in Berlin with my peers. The trip fitted perfectly into our ‘Sense of Place’ project; exploring an environment which is very different to Cambridge.

Visiting the East Side Gallery, Jewish Museum and Holocaust Memorial, I felt moved by the history of Berlin, and by the divide that the wall created. I knew that I wanted to incorporate this into my work. This being said, throughout the project I found this difficult. This was because once I arrived home, I wasn’t able to produce further first-hand work to utilise or inform my developments.

Within the city, there was huge amounts of graffiti and stickers; adding to the urban atmosphere. I felt that the way in which the place is still recovering and building up was visually reflected in the layering of the stickers and graffiti over the remains the buildings and of the wall itself.

A new technique I learnt when attending a workshop, was producing work digitally. Experimenting with drawing using tape, paint crayon and ink, I then utilised them for this this digital piece. The result was visually successful, however it did not reflect the ‘layers through history’ theme.

I looked at literally layering paper and tearing parts away to show the layer underneath. This was really affective in reflecting the urban form of Berlin. Initially I wanted to do this on a larger scale, producing three screen prints. However, as I was printing, I realised that I had been thinking too much about the final outcome, and that these prints would not have such an impact visually if torn up.

Though affective, I felt that the screen prints needed something to link it back to the history of the Berlin wall. I produced some large stick and ink drawings of characters posing in such a way that looked like they were climbing the wall. This really brought the piece together as a final outcome.

The next project is the final instalment of the pathway stage, ahead of my final major project! Having completed this project, I am enthusiastic to concentrate on observational drawing.

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

