BODY LANGUAGE

The first project within the Pathway stage was titled ‘Body Language’. For this, my initial idea was to look at the way in which people are similar in terms of the way the think and appear.

I begun by producing several continuous line drawings. I feel this really helped me to improve my technique when drawing on setting, and was a good way to kick start the ideas which I had about interpreting body language.

I learnt new techniques such as mono printing, as well as illustrating with less conventional mediums such as wire. A main focal point of my project being anatomy, I took the opportunity to experiment with inserting cut outs into the wire sculptures (transferred from my initial drawings).

I took the idea of internal body language (in particular thought) further by looking at the way in which colour can be associated with brain activity. I researched synaethesisa; a condition where one automatically associates a letter or number for example with a colour, taste or personality. This spurred me to think about how the diversity of perception, and how this can be linked to the brain.

Within this project, I have successfully continued to develop my collage technique, taking it through to cutouts of brain fragments. For my final outcome, I looked at transferring my collages inspired by the left and right sections of the brain.

At the end of my project I was asked to exhibit my work around the sixth form college. This did not go to plan, and my work was not up for very long, however it was very insightful and relevant to my project. My findings conveyed the way in which people who cannot relate to artist practices themselves react to seeing art in an unexpected environment.

When I left the place in which I had hung my work to quickly retrieve a camera, I was approached by an important figure within the college. She hastily told me I needed to move my art, stating that it was a health and safety risk. Though I disagreed with this, I returned to take down my work feeling as though I was a naughty schoolboy who had been told off. When I arrived, I found that my work was already being taken down without care. Luckily, when I explained that I needed to take some photos, I was allowed to do so before it was taken down. Later on, I put up my work within the science department, which entailed a similar story. As we struggled to put the work up,  a technician approached my friend and I, and rudely asked us ‘what exactly [we were] doing’. As a result we felt as though we were being a nuisance and again had to end the exhibition. At no point did anyone show any interest or enthusiasm in what I was doing. 

Resultantly, my work unexpectedly raised conversations linked to body language. Clearly people have different perceptions of art. Is this something which is as a result of the way the creative arts seems to be too structured and less important in schools? Or is it linked to the way in which our brains work differently – is it within us since birth?

I am interested to hear what your views are on this. If you have exhibited your work before, how have the public reacted? Can we change the way in which people perceive creativity, or is it simply built in?

 

Leave a Reply

