TRACE ELEMENTS

Hey pal!

We’ve now officially begun the art foundation course (a very early start since it’s still only august!). Our first project or brief was called ‘Trace Elements’ and had a concentration on fine art and photography.

When I did fine art at A-level, I always worked on more traditional paintings which were largely influenced by artists such as Hans Holbein or Anthony Van Dyck. Paintings like these were what I had always envisioned to be the definition of the term ‘Fine Art’ – but when we discussed in groups what we thought the term actually meant, I realised it was just not that classical / olde style of painting that defined it. Researching artists such as Rauschenberg, Duchamp and Rethard, my perception was changed completely.

A few workshops helped us to widen our ideas on how we could explore the theme. This included collecting, drawing and photographing objects left behind, creating traces of objects by printing and by producing photograms, producing casts and sculptures and finally recreating traces of a journey.

Not only did this get me thinking how I could explore a theme, but it also encouraged me to take risks with different mediums. The piece which I both enjoyed producing the most and I think was most successful was printing to show a trace. I found that printing in a series was effective, because it stopped me from constricting myself onto one bit of paper, and because the composition could be rearranged.

When it came to producing a last ‘trace elements’ piece, my idea was that I wanted to explore traces of growing up. This was a theme which was both personal and universal. I wanted to utilise the idea of working within a series, and one way of doing this was to create a collage. I looked at artists who explored a similar theme using collage (Michelle Caplan and Kurt Schwitters) and set out to produce my own piece.

The final outcome was a series of pieces composed with different papers which were slotted together having been printed on using old photographs and illustrations. I printed over the joins in papers, so the result seemed fragmented. This would allow the person viewing the collages to piece things together, therefore beckoning interaction.

Thats it for now, thank you for reading !

One thought on “TRACE ELEMENTS

Leave a Reply

